Week # 4 – A Somber Weekend

16 Feb

I would have to say that it has been quite a weekend for Janie and I. Sadly, my grandmother passed away on Sunday and it’s been a rough week. My grandmother was a wonderful woman who I loved very much and someone I wish I would have spent more time with as I grew older. Now, I am left with many precious memories to wrap myself in when I miss her most.

Some of you may be surprised that I’m sharing such intimate details of my life on a blog. But when I started this blog I had one main goal: be honest. I think it’s important that I give my audience the same respect that I expect when reading other people’s blogs. Blogs can be as personal as a diary and an outlet for someone to express themselves in a way that at times can be better captured in writing than in a conversation. For me, I’ve always found it easier to express myself when writing, which was one of my main motivations for starting a blog. And as I’ve mentioned before this blog is as much about Janie as it is about me and our journey together. Beyond that, this blog is a place to share the special qualities and traits of Janie and Greyhounds.

As a Virgo, (guilty – I believe a bit in Zodiac signs), I tend to wear my emotions on my sleeve. Oddly enough, however ‘oddly’ may not be the right word, I think Janie has sensed my somber mood over these past few days. While she normally sleeps on her own bed on the floor, the past few mornings she has quietly slithered her way onto my bed and I’ve woken up with her always wet nose against my neck. And since this isn’t the first time this has happened I have come to believe that Janie is quite intuitive. Yes I think many of us would like to think all dogs are, however, Greyhounds are one of the only breeds I have been around that can keep constant eye contact. Like a friend who knows when you need a hug, Janie always seems to have the same instinct. Instead, her hug is more of a head press into your chest and a quick lick on the face. It’s reassuring and gentle and over these past few days she has made me feel a bit more peaceful about life. I mean honestly, what more could you want in a best friend?

2 Responses to “Week # 4 – A Somber Weekend”

  1. Cheryle February 17, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Jenna, I am sooooo very proud of you and “MeeMaw” would be, too! I’m sure she is smiling down on you and will be for the rest of your life. She couldn’t as for a better granddaughter “MeeMaw” and she could not have loved you more and neither could I. Looking forward to seeing you next weekend, just wish that it could be under happier circumstances….

    Much love and huge hugs,
    Your Aunt Cheryle

  2. Dave Bolvin February 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Sorry to hear of your grandmother’s passing. 😦

Leave a comment