Week #5 – What I Like About You

23 Feb

 

It was the ‘face off’ of the year, well maybe not, but from the looks of it Janie and my roommate’s Dachshund Skully look like they mean business. When in reality, it was really just a perfect picture capturing a brief moment when Janie was actually able to chew her own treat.

Looking at this picture always makes me smile and today it provoked a thought. If you’re an animal lover or owner I’m sure at some point you’ve come across articles that ‘scientifically’ prove that pet owners look like their pets, or something along those lines. My thoughts today, however, drifted more towards the likeness between our pets and our personalities and relationships.  If you spent a day with all four of us (Myself, Janie, Skully and my roommate), I think you’d find that we are eerily quite the reflection personality wise of our animals.

My roommate and her “little rat”, as she so affectionately likes to calls him are carefree, outgoing, curious, and playful. All traits that are typical of the Dachshund breed. Janie and I on the other hand are a bit more reserved, timid at times, and are like walking emotional detectors; we can sense a change in a person’s emotions almost immediately.  And like Greyhounds, I am typically quite shy at first and hard to coax out of my shell, but once I’m comfortable it’s hard to shut me up, literally.

Anyhow, where I’m going with this is that I find it unique, a bit quirky, and oddly similar how Janie and Skully’s relationship progressed quite like my roommate and I’s.  While we quickly found it easy to bond over our dogs, like many dog owners do.  When we first met it took us a bit of time to get to know each other.  My roommate was this outgoing, loud girl with fantastic heels that I was a bit apprehensive about meeting, but after ‘forcing’ me to join her for Sushi more than once or even twice as I recall, we couldn’t have become better friends and obviously now roommates.

I think it’s safe to say that we are more of a reflection of the type of animals we own than we think; we may not look like them, but we probably reflect a few of their personality traits. For some of us that may not be a good thing, but its food for thought, or at least just a thought. So the next time your furry friend makes you laugh or gets on your nerves, take a moment and think, have you acted the same way?    

 Oh and has for the puppies, well let’s just say their learning to get along quite nicely…

Leave a comment