Week #6 – Couch Potato

2 Mar

Greyhounds, greyhounds, greyhounds! Hopefully everyone at this point can learn two things from my blog:

1. I am in love and completely adore my Greyhound Janie

2. I am continuing to learn the ups and downs that come from owning such a dog

Growing up, I was raised with small dogs like Shih Tzus and Chiuauas. Some obvious differences in those particular breeds compared to Greyhounds are that both are considerably smaller and for lack of a better term ‘yappier’.  I had mentioned in a previous blog that I did my research before choosing the Greyhound breed and initially many of the websites that I had looked at provided the basic positives and negatives. Which was all fine and dandy; however, I wanted information first hand from Greyhound owners.

Finally, after only a few minutes of searching I found what I was looking for. It was a forum for Greyhound lovers called GreyTalk. This forum allows individuals who register to participate by sharing pictures, events, information, and experiences about the breed. I learned so much very quickly. Particularly, I remember reading that Greyhounds are lovingly referred to as ‘couch potatoes’.  I couldn’t believe that these dogs, which were trained only to race, were any kind of lazy. Now, almost a year later, I can attest for that information to be very true.

Case and point. While Janie has been called an assortment of nicknames by myself and others, I most often refer to her as my ‘lazy Jane’. And that’s usually because 95% of the time you will find her curled up on her bed, or even on the couch just dozing away, most likely hoping that Skully is far away from disrupting her slumber. She even has a morning nap that takes place before I even leave for work!

Every morning I get up, take her out, feed her, and begin my morning routine. When I emerge from the bathroom ready to start my day, you could bet your bottom dollar that Janie is in her number one favorite bed – and that would be my bed. So allow me to depart with a one key piece of advice: if you have a full size bed or smaller, it’s time to upgrade, because these ‘couch potatoes’ love to hog the bed!

3 Responses to “Week #6 – Couch Potato”

  1. Dyanne Lagman March 10, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Love the pics of Janie! I responded to this particular post. http://goldrushed.blogspot.com/2011/01/my-lucky-charm.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Response #2 – Couch Potato « abbybakes - March 13, 2011

    […] a dog person – without a doubt – so this week my blog is in response to Jenna’s blog post, on My Grey Obsession, about couch potatoes.  I know a good deal about couch potatoes.  Meet […]

Leave a comment