Week #7 – Friday?

16 Mar

Is it Friday yet? Usually, I love the sound of word, unfortunately the only thing that comes to mind just by hearing it is the new one hit wonder ‘Friday’ by Rebecca Black. I can honestly say that upon hearing the song, that went viral over night, I was instantly humming it in my head for the rest of the day, today, and probably tomorrow.  I’m always so entertained by what becomes quickly popular, despite the content. Lately, for instance, I have heard too many people around me make statements along of the lines of “I did this or that, which equals winning”, which can only bring one man to mind, Mr. Charlie Sheen.

However, while I am entertained, I now start to look at why and how these things become so popular. I feel that I am working pretty on becoming a more knowledgeable advocate for Greyhound adoption, and in doing so I would like to be able to raise more awareness about the cause on an individual level; not only for Janie, but for all Greyhounds.

I think the next step in this journey is to finally begin a topic for research. Since adopting Janie I have become very interested in learning more about Greyhound racing. I’m constantly reminded of the sport every time I go to rub her cute little ears that are both tattooed from her years as a racer. One ear is tattooed with her birth information and the other with her racing number. Almost like two little barcodes that owners use to tract the dog’s lineage. To me it just seems mean to do so to an animal. So at this point I can only make an emotional stance on the subject, which is just the thought of how these animals were treated only leads me to believe that dog racing is cruel and should be stopped. However, in my next few posts I think I will gather some more facts, ask around the Greyhound community, and find out what a day in the life of a racer was like. So stay tuned, and remember tomorrow is Thursday which means it will finally be Friday! (the humming begins again)

Leave a comment