What to do…!

20 Apr

Week #12

Well obviously been a while since my last post, my apologies, the past few weeks have passed by in a blur. Whoever told me that life doesn’t slow down as you get older wasn’t kidding. I swear that I keep waking up and another week has disappeared. Besides that, nothing really exciting has happened. Janie is just dandy and itching to be outside now that the weather is starting to get warmer. I swear I get a look from her every time we head back into the house, regardless of how long we’ve been out, that just screams “Mom I don’t wanna go inside yet!”. But on the overall I would still consider her one happy and spoiled couch potato.

Anyhow, over the last few weeks I’ve been looking into the history of Greyhound racing, as promised, and in the midst of doing so I was presented with what I would call an ethical dilemma. Since I have yet to make decision either way I thought I would ask other people to share their thoughts and then maybe I could come to some kind of conclusion. First let me start with what brought me to this point. The other day I got an email from my roommate asking me if I wanted to go to the Virginia Gold Cup, she had never been to a horse race and got an offer for a great deal on VIP tickets through LivingSocial. Let me just make it clear that she wasn’t so interested in the race itself but mainly wanted to go so all of us girls could get dressed up in pretty dresses, find ridiculous big hats to wear, and get VIP treatment all at once. Without much hesitation I wrote her back to count me in…and then I read the more about the deal. Not only would horses be racing, there would be dog racing there too.

This is where the wheels started turning in my mind and things got a little complicated. I first started to research dog racing because I didn’t think that I was educated enough to pick a side that wasn’t purely based on emotions. But playing my own devil’s advocate let’s just pretend for a moment that I came to the definite conclusion that dog racing was wrong and I wouldn’t participate in anything that supported the sport. That leaves me with more of a personal battle and where I need a little guidance. Here’s the question:

I know it doesn’t seem like a big deal, but when you’re young and looking to form an opinion or choose a side, I always feel like I have to look at the issue from every perspective possible. Comments are more than welcomed!

One Response to “What to do…!”

  1. BLSinDC April 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Check out my blog response 🙂 “Response Blog #4: Angel Babyy.”

    Response Blog #4: Angel Babyy.

Leave a comment