Getting to Pa – One pant at a time…

27 Apr

Response #2

Over the weekend I traveled home to PA and taking Janie in the car has always been quite the adventure. My classmate Liz promoted me to post about Janie’s travel adventures after reading one of her posts from her blog The Snarky Beagle.

Lets just say that Janie isn’t the best traveler. She pants the entire way no matter how near or far the destination seems to be, and will only settle down when I drive straight and steady and if you’ve ever been in PA you may know why that’s not always possible.

While I travel a lot with Janie, you never know what to expect. Let’s just say that there have been some accidents along the road. The poor thing gets so stressed out that she can’t control her bowls. After shopping around I found an herbal gel that it supposed to help Janie relax. I haven’t tried it out yet or I would give you the name. The issue with giving her anything else is because Greyhounds react differently to anesthetics than other breeds so you have to be careful.

As you can see from the picture above after a few of these accidents I also invested in a doggie car mat that basically covers your back seat and attaches to the head rests. They are waterproof and can be rolled up so I would advise anyone to get one if you travel with your pet and they are too big for a carrying case. My new trick that can also be seen is her bear. She loves that bear and is the only toy she doesn’t chew on, probably because it doesn’t have a squeaker in it. But it’s added a level of comfort to her travels and I’m happy to report this last trip was accident free!!

Leave a comment